Quit Wasting My Time!

Posted: 2002-07-03 in General
Tags:

I've decided that I spend entirely too much time fucking off, and not enough time doing constructive activities. For this reason, I am going to start making a list of all the things that I want to do that require some time, much of which I am currently wasting watching TV or sitting around and looking like the second bump from the end on that log in the swamp over there. However, this isn't just a summer-time New Year's Resolution list…this is the real thing. Whatever I put on here is going to get done, and I'm going to take the time (first constructive activity!) to map out exactly what each one is going to take and start to figure out when I can get things done.

Don't get me wrong, I'm still going to enjoy the occasional television show, and my favorite shows won't get messed with at all (Smallville, Six Feet Under, Sex & The City, etc…). However, I am no longer going to spend my every waking moment from the time I get home after work until the time I go to bed with the television blaring at me. TV is insidious and sneaks up on you…before you know it, you're watching hours and hours and you've accomplished nothing.


Anyway, I refuse to get sucked into the idiot box on a regular basis anymore, so here's the start of my things to do:

  • Post entries at least 4 times a week.
  • Learn to play the guitar.
  • Think of a project to practice programming in Perl.
  • Program the project.
  • Practice my batting (softball and baseball, lefty and righty).
  • Read 1 Classic novel for every 3 Sci-Fi novels.
  • Read one "other" novel for every 4 of the above novels.

That should keep me busy for a while, right?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

