Love’s Many Many Faces

Posted: 2003-02-11 in General
Tags:

Februarium, Day Two

What you love.

This one's about your favorite things, or pick one thing and wax rhapsodic on it. What turns you on? What gets you out of your bed in the morning? What brings you out of your funk? We want to know.

There are many things I enjoy, but few things that I can say I absolutely, without a doubt, wholeheartedly love…

I love books. Not just the reading part, but the feel of an old book in my hands, crackling a little as I turn the page. Going to a used bookstore feels like I'm walking into some sort of dreamscape….thousands and thousands of volumes stacked every-which way on the shelves, hiding deep secrets of wisdom and tales of foolishness, all just waiting for me to pluck them out of their slumber and coerce them to reveal all to me.

I cherish the crisp fall afternoons after the weather has gotten cooler and the leaves have all turned into an explosion of sunset in the middle of the day.

I hunger for the tantalizing trail of a good plotline. They entrance me, pull me off into my own world where I battle villains and always arise from some interior depth refreshed and invigorated and ready to fight the injustices of the world.

I swoon over the aroma of a fresh pot of gourmet coffee as it slowly trickles into my oversized mug. I count the minutes until I can inhale the perfume of the libation that brings ideas to my head and allows me to float above all the other cars in the early-morning traffic jams.

I delight in dancing…not dancing well, for I don't, but just dancing. Letting my body flow through the music and allowing the movements to bring my emotions forward and out into others…I cannot think of a way I more truly express myself than through my body's response to the music I love.

I cannot live without music. The translation of thoughts into something so incredibly, mysteriously, almost tangible astounds me, leaving me with my jaw hanging slack and my toes tapping out a counterpoint to the sweep-me-away beats.

I love chocolate.

I live for words, wordplay, and the tintinnabulation that so musically wells from an artfully-abstract alliteration.

My passion for running knows few bounds. Somehow, I can't bring myself to let go of the idea of being free in the wind and the air, with nothing holding me back and everything driving me forward, on and on to my uppermost limits. I notice little when I run, but what does catch my focus, even for only an instant, still takes a lifetime to forget.

Everyday, there are all sorts of things I say I love, and some of them I'm sure I even do. But these things here I love as much as life itself, and any one of them can bring me to euphoric heights normally only experienced during the giddy joy of a new romance. These things are, to me, what makes life worth living, and live it I shall; for, as long as I have my loves, my world is complete…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

