mp3eme VOX: One Hit Wonders Roundup

Posted: 2007-06-04 in General
Tags: , , , , ,

Ok, first of all I have to admit that I really don't have a lot of one-hit wonders in my collection, mostly because I tend to buy albums rather than tracks, and I dumped most of my ill-gotten gains from my Napster/college days around the time I became a working stiff.  However, I do have some that'll probably qualify, at least in most people's eyes:

Letters to Cleo – Here and Now

Most people wouldn't recognize the name Letters to Cleo, while a greater number would recognize Kay Hanley's signature voice (btw, did you know she's doing the theme for Disney's Tigger and Pooh cartoon now?)  But you play this song and plenty of people will start to sing along…only to start mumbling when it gets to the speedy parts.

P.S. I'm ignoring that LtC did a few Cheap Trick covers for the 10 Things I Hate About You movie soundtrack…that just doesn't count, even if they were pretty decent covers…

Crash Test Dummies – Mmm Mmm Mmm Mmm

In what must be the poorest choice for a song name (how the heck are you supposed to shout that out at a concert as a request?), the Crash Test Dummies dominated the freakishly-low-voice segment of the radio market in the 90s with this one hit.

Ok, Ok.  They also had "Superman's Song".  But suprisingly few people have ever heard of it…even though it rocks.

Luscious Jackson – Naked Eye

This song is catchy.  So are a number of others on the album Fever In, Fever Out.  Sadly, only this one made it into the Billboard Top 40.

Tenacious D – Tribute

Their first album is hilarious, but the vulgarity and not-safe-for-radio humor kept all but one song off the radio.  That song hit it big though, and brought the band out of the relative obscurity they had experienced trying to promote their work in live shows and the television series Mr. Show.

Again, with almost all of the above (as well as many others I decided not to post), you can argue "Yes, but what about that other hit XYZ?"  Like I said…I tend not to buy one-hit-wonders…and IF I buy an album that only has one hit single that has had play, I've made sure to give the rest of the disc a listen first.  Usually one or two of the tracks I like end up getting "discovered" later, making my one-hit-wonder bands into multi-hit artists.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Dave says:

    great choices…I love LJ…and always assumed none of their tracks made it anywhere near the Billboard charts…I meant to include a blurb about the One Hit Wonders being subjective b/c one man's 1HW is another's One of Many Hit Wonders…heh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

