Kids Say the Darndest…

Posted: 2007-06-16 in General
Tags: , ,

My wife and I were eating some baked chicken and salad for dinner the other night and Violet was sitting in her high chair next to us.  She kept asking for some portions of our dinners and we kept giving her more of what she wanted (she had already eaten her own dinner, this was purely to fill the hollow leg that most children seem to possess).

Anyway, we were nearing the end of the meal when Violet wrinkled up her nose at my wife and said, quite loudly and distinctly, "Bitch!  Bitch!  Biiitch!"

We looked at each other, astonished.  Had one of us been cursing around our daughter while not in the other's presence?  Was Elmo teaching her to swear on Sesame Street?  Where in the hell did she learn such fucking language, anyway?

Violet by this time is started to reach out for something, and Dee followed her gaze.  "Oh," she said, realization dawning.  "Do you want RANCH?"

Violet nodded her head emphatically.  "RANCH," she said distinctly.  As if she could never could have pronounced it any other way.


By the way, I'm heading out to the sunny shores (fingers crossed) of the North Carolina beaches tomorrow.  Since I doubt the house we're renting is equipped with any kind of interwebs, I'll be incommunicado until I get back.  Enjoy the silence!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Coleen says:

    My youngest sister used to say "Jesus, Mary, and SAINT JOSEPH" when she was very little. I'm glad my mother never used any stronger words around her – I would have had a hard time keeping a straight face!

    Like

  2. Maggie says:

    at least "ranch" wasn't her first word!! lol. keep that one in the vault for when she's all grown up. she's sure to laugh!

    Like

  3. Yoganaught says:

    Great story! I laughed out loud!

    Like

Leave a Reply

