Maybe I’ll Buy a Cowboy Hat While I’m There

Posted: 2007-07-05 in General
Tags: , , , ,

I found out a few days ago that I'll be headed to Houston, TX next week for a week-long inspection of a vendor's system.  I've got family in the area, but coincidentally, they'll be in Pennsylvania at the time, visiting my other family.  Looks like I'll bring a book or two and catch on some reading in the evenings. 

I might even get a chance to go catch a movie or two (quite a luxury when you're usually shackled to a 2-year old anytime you go out).  Anyone have any recommendations?  The one's I'm sort of considering are:

    – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (I'm a sucker for the series, although I like the books more than the movies)
    – Transformers (who doesn't enjoy having their childhood repurposed to sell millions of new toys to a new generation of kids?)
    – Ocean's Thirteen (If it's anything like the first two, I'll enjoy this one a lot)

On the fence (I would need a really good recommendation to push me into seeing it)
    – Pirates of the Caribbean 3
    – Fantastic Four: Silver Surfer
    – Evan Almighty
    – 1408 (I've read the Stephen King short story this is based on…Meh.)
    – Evening
    – Live Free or Die Hard (Is this the one where the corpse of Bruce Willis is resurrected to fight terrorists in some city somewhere?)

Ones that are definitely out:
    – Anything animated (I get enough of this at home, I'll see them soon enough when they come out on DVD)
    – License to Wed (Um…if you've seen a preview, you'd understand)
    – Knocked Up (I had to wash my eyes out with bleach after watching the preview for this movie)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. [atropos] says:

    Die Hard 4 is a summer blockbuster with all the stops. Action packed from beginnning to end and is a fun guy blow 'em movie. Some things a bit over done but generally entertaining.
    I want to see Transformers. I heard it's really good. I will be going this weekend.
    Good luck on narrowing it down. Get some R&R while you're out there!

    Like

  2. Dave says:

    I don't do a lot of movie watching in a theater…but Transformers would be my top pick followed by Harry Potter…Optimus and the boys probably need the "big ass screen" treatment….I ended up really enjoying the first Fantastic Four…probably because my expectations are so low…so the sequel is definitely on my Netflix queue…

    Like

  3. Kevin Wolf says:

    Ocean's Thirteen was a blast.

    Like

  4. I really want to see "The waitress". I've heard so many good things about it, but sadly I live in a culturally bereft area, and it's not playing here.And just to rub it in? I'm seeing HP5 in the imax in 3D…pretty much 'cause I'm a geek.

    Like

  5. wiredpsyche says:

    I'm also thinking of seeing Transformers over the weekend (my brother already watched it, and he says it was great). Hope you have fun in Texas. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

