A Daddy’s Job is to Protect His Babies

Posted: 2007-07-20 in General
Tags: , , ,

Last night, after an hour-and-a-half of my daughter screaming, crying, and saying "NO" to going to sleep in the foreign crib in my parents' house, I decided that our current methods, while effective at home, were not working at my parents' house.  Since Violet was getting upset to the point that she almost couldn't breathe, I decided to distract her with one of her kids' music CDs and try to get her to relax a bit.  I put on the CD and moved her from the crib to the bed, where we rested next to each other, sharing a pillow.  Her little chest shuddered under my hand as she slowly relaxed to my touch and the music in the background.  She sat up and pointed at the far wall.

"That, Dada.  That."

"What honey?  What are you pointing at?  The closet door?"

"That.  Cared Dada, I cared."

 

As I realized she was pointing out that the slightly cracked closet door was SCARING her, my heart broke…  Here I was, trying to force her to go to bed in a foreign room in a foreign crib, and she wasn't fighting the sleep, she was just scared out of her little mind.  And she was too far along to be able to formulate the sentence to tell me so.

 

I closed the door and had her lay back down, hugging her close and guiding her breath towards the soft, rhythmic pattern that reminds me of the ocean waves breaking gently on a soft sandy beach.  When her eyes were finally shut in slumber, I softly got up and moved her angelic little body to the crib and covered her up with a homemade blanket my mother quilted for her.  I turned off the music and gave her a kiss on the forehead before leaving the room and shutting the door softly behind me.

Dada is here for you honey.  I'll always be here for you.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Coleen says:

    No fair making me cry, ROSS.I think we used to say "cared" instead of "scared" as well.

    Like

  2. lemon says:

    [esto es genial]

    Like

  3. Steve Betz says:

    Get her to watch "Poltergeist" — that'll help.

    Like

  4. Yoganaught says:

    sweet! what good kid's music do you like?

    Like

  5. mr.snappy says:

    Mr. Ross when ever someone makes a comment on my blog i always take the time and effort to view their blog site to see what they are like and what interests them.
    having just read your last blog a daddys job is to protect his babies.
    Having had 2 boys myself I would never dream of letting one of my children cry for an hour and a half even if he or she was in a strange settings. I would have held and cuddeled them until they setteled down and went to sleep

    Like

  6. Ross says:

    I could qualify that I didn't leave my daughter crying and screaming alone for an hour and a half, but I'll claim artistic license and all that jazz.Every parent is entitled to raise their children their own way (short of anything truly detrimental to their kids' wellbeing, in which case they should be strapped to the Rack). The happy and well-adjusted child my wife and I are raising is evidence enough to us that we're doing pretty well.

    Like

  7. Ross says:

    I've tried to introduce my daughter to a mix of stuff. There's old classic kids' stuff that *I* listened to as a kid, such as Raffi, Wee Sing …, etc. Then there's newer artists like Ralph Covert (Ralph's World), Laurie Berkner, and Dan Zanes, to mention a few. Then there's stuff that's enjoyable for kids, but doesn't always make parents go insane (They Might Be Giants' albums No and Flood for example. My wife appreciates these, a lot. :-)I also try to throw in some older jazz standards and classical music. Violet particularly enjoys "Peter and the Wolf", and likes to act out the various animals represented in the symphony's story.

    Like

  8. foxsydee says:

    awww….poor boo!
    WTG for finally being able to figure out what the "monster" was. Its easier to "slay the dragon" when you know what and where it is! 🙂 Go get 'em dad!

    Like

  9. Shel says:

    I was a huge fan of the Nutcracker. It was a sure fire way to get me to calm down and fall asleep.

    Like

  10. That's really sweet! You must be a good father!

    Like

  11. Guycita says:

    Aw, this made me cry. And I am not even a parent yet.
    I give Bedtime with the Beatles to every new mom I know, and it's proven to be a hit. It nearly put me to sleep one time when I was babysitting! So if you haven't checked it out yet, I highly recommend it. 🙂

    Like

  12. Janette says:

    Congrats on TIG. This post is beautiful as well, and was delightful to read.

    Like

  13. verabear says:

    this is such a sweet story. when she grows up and gets to read this, im sure she'll be moved to tears!

    Like

  14. well Ross, I found myself on your page after reading your comments on Mr Snappys page……. decided that i felt you were interesting enough to drop over here and read your blogs……. i love this blog…. i am sitting here amazed as i was just thinking about a posting i did recently and i left a comment about how music transcends. i love music and depending on my moods and emotions, music can be my strength. i was just about to do some research on music therapy and do a posting. again i want to say what a wonderful post. it made me think about my dad and how he was and still is there for me… pleased to meet you by the way, bev x

    Like

  15. Stacy says:

    So sweet. Congrats on TIG.

    Like

  16. goldie says:

    Great post. Even better response.

    Like

  17. MeeShell says:

    You are a beautiful man. I heart you for being an awesome dad.

    Like

  18. KeyLimeTwist says:

    very sweet, congrats on the TIR

    Like

  19. gamany says:

    made my heart flutter.

    Like

  20. tai.angel says:

    ? sounds like u are doing a great job mr.dad

    Like

  21. JENZ says:

    as a nanny i totally understand the importance of music appropriate to the times, but i don't think i was as careful as you. i'd get my toddler to rock out to the faint and weirdly enough, bjork got him to calm down. figures.anyway, what a cute story!

    Like

  22. wiredpsyche says:

    Aww. That was really sweet. Violet is a lucky daughter! 🙂

    Like

  23. Lioness_812 says:

    What an amazingly touching view! We are taught to change diapers, to feed and bathe but nothing can quite prepare us for emotions that are so innocent or the instinct to protect!
    Thanks for sharing – this is great!

    Like

  24. jaklumen says:

    Hail to you, champion father.I sing to my own daughter the lullabies of old, and tell the tales long remembered.May you always be the mighty warrior-priest to your young princess.(in a bit of a weird mood – been playing Diablo for hours. But her name does mean Princess, and she adores them, as well as the color pink 😉 They grow fast… may you always be ready.)

    Like

  25. Dan says:

    Great post, thanks for sharing.

    Like

  26. sugabelly says:

    [esto es genial]

    Like

  27. ning says:

    i love my daddy so much. great for being such a wonderful dad to your little girl! 🙂

    Like

  28. Wanda says:

    This is the sweetest thing I have read on VOX by far! Thank you for posting it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

