I Think The Calendar’s Broken… It Can’t Be Another Year Already!

Posted: 2007-08-03 in General
Tags: , ,

As of tomorrow, I'll be embarking on my 29th* revolution around the sun on this big ball of rock we call home.  Birthdays have never been a huge thing in my family, so I'm expecting just a little fun with friends and family and a nice meal or two.  Usually the day doesn't feel any different from any other day, but it does help denote the passage of time and gives me a reason to reflect on what I've been doing and what I want to do in the near future.

*For those of you who are are not thinking straight at the moment, this means I'll be 28 years old.

Over the past year I've:

  • Interviewed for and acquired a new job in a new field and in a new state
  • Sold my old townhouse
  • Bought a new house
  • Moved my entire life from Baltimore, MD to North Carolina
  • Rung in a new year of 2007 on a farm in Florida
  • Took a three week trip to India (for work)
  • Celebrated my daughter's 2nd birthday
  • "Helped" my wife get pregnant with what will be our second daughter (I'm glad I was present for this!).
  • Joined Vox and transferred over all my blog posts from previous sources all the way back to when I started writing a blog in March of 2002 (Wow! over 5 years of blogging, even if I *was* sort of sporadic at first!)
  • Celebrated my wife's __th birthday (tomorrow would be my last birthday ever if she found out I mentioned her age on the internet)
  • "Found" an old friend from my college days (actually, she found me)
  • Made some new friends on Vox
  • Curbed an addiction to a certain MMORPG by quitting the game completely
  • Made an effort to be a better person, husband, and father (and think I've succeeded)

In the coming year I expect I will:

  • Travel at least once more to India (again, for work)
  • Travel at least once to Oman (for work)
  • Possibly travel at least once to Malaysia (noticing a pattern here?)
  • Join the local synogague (I've been meaning to do this, but things kept getting in the way…but I've got to get the priorities straight here)
  • Teach my daughter at least one bad habit that I will later regret
  • Watch my wife give birth to daughter #2

And finally, in the upcoming year I hope to:

  • Begin writing some more fiction
  • Bring smiles to the faces of every one in my family as often as I can
  • Get back into running regularly
  • Continue to post regularly on Vox
  • Enjoy every day – Time's a one-way street and I don't want to miss any of the sights along the way

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Damn straight Aug. 4 is a good day – it's my birthday also!!! I'll be 33. Sounds like you've had quite a year. I hope the next one is spectacular!

    Like

  2. Budd says:

    that is one busy year. good luck with the running thing, The second kid makes it harder. Glad you could be there for the conception of the second one by the way. That was hilarious.

    Like

  3. Steve Betz says:

    Happy Birthmonth, Ross!
    Great review and pre-view of the coming revolution! Glad you were there to "help" with the family!

    Like

  4. Dave says:

    wha?! Did I know you were in NC? (quite possible with my lack of short term memory)Where are you (again)?Congrats on the B-day! After the 21st…they're all kinda boring to me….

    Like

  5. [atropos] says:

    And it's only year 29? Wow!

    Like

  6. mariser says:

    happt birthday ross and ef. party, but not too much. I don't want you too hungover to forget my birthday on Monday (46!!eleven11!!!)and yes, it has been quite an eventful year for you, and all the events have been good-to-awesome. keep it up for the next few years

    Like

  7. You're still so young! Happy Bday? *passes over a yummy cake via Vox*
    And what a year ay? How time flies! Hope you achieve what you plan on achieving (who am I kidding? You are going to achieve it all!)

    Like

  8. Lightchaser says:

    Belated happy birthday! I loved this entry. I hope the coming year has all sorts of exciting and happy stuff in store for you and your family.

    Like

  9. IG says:

    what an awesome list! do you do this every year on your birthday? seems like it would be a great way to check in with yourself, appreciate all the right things and consider adjustments. happy happy and all that!

    Like

  10. wiredpsyche says:

    Belated happy birthday! Hope you had an awesome time. I wish you loads of of fun and happy things. ^_^ Glad I met you here at Vox.

    Like

  11. Ross says:

    Thanks everyone for all the birthday wishes and comments. This is the first time I've really set down any kind of recap of what I've been doing in the past year – I think I always *thought* about doing it around a New Year's celebration, but never actually got around to it. A birthday seems a much better place to do it, though, so I'm glad I picked up where I did. Also, it makes me want to accomplish a lot of stuff this year so I have a lot to write about for next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

