Fantasy Football Recap #12 – Skin of My Teeth

Posted: 2007-11-26 in General
Tags: , , , , ,

It was a crazy week for me this week, in part because I rushed to get my lineup situated before the games started on Thursday, and missed out on using Barber on the one week he could have scored 20+ points for me.  By Sunday evening, all of my players' points had been tallied (totaling 135 for the week), and I could only watch in dread as my opponent slowly crept up the scoreboard every time Tom Brady threw another complete pass.  At the end of the first half of the New England / Philadelphia game, I thought it was over for sure — all Brady needed to do in order to force a loss for me was to toss out another 100 yards and a touchdown.  Yet time and again in the second half, New England got close to the end zone only to run the ball in, or otherwise turn it over without a pass TD.

I watched the last few minutes of the game anxiously, my opponent 1 point behind a tie for the week.  I know the Pats were trying to run the ball to run out the clock.  But would Brady throw that one extra pass to try to get a first down and ensure the Patriots retained possession for the rest of the game?  In the end, the answer was no; they kicked the ball, and regardless of Feeley's pick at the very end of the game, I was a winner for this week, 135-134.  It took me until well after midnight to settle down from the nail-biting jitters, as it just doesn't get any closer than that, in fantasy competition.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Skylar says:

    Hopefully, you have a backup or other consideration for your WR spot now that Hackett is down and out for the next week or more! Great win though!

    Like

  2. Ross says:

    Yeah, wide receivers are one thing I've got some depth in – I'll probably be playing Dwayne Bowe (KC) against San Diego in his place, but I may choose Roddy White (ATL) instead against the Rams…not sure yet.

    Like

  3. Skylar says:

    Ross, I had some Matchup decisions that have driven me crazy so far for Week 13, could you give me some advice?

    Like

  4. Ross says:

    Eh, I've got a 6-6 record for the season and am ranked 5th out of 10 for my league, so I may not be the best person to look to for advice…but if you want to hit me up and see what I think, maybe it'll at least get you thinking about something you might not have otherwise considered…

    Like

  5. Hieronymus says:

    I picked the wrong week to bench Jason Hanson for Neil Rackers. All Hanson did was kick for 20 points! But I still won. I'm defending my championship and finally crept back into the lead.

    Like

  6. Ross says:

    Nice! I had one of those weeks with my kicker a little bit ago – Shayne Graham kicked all of Cincinatti's 21 points for the week, and I left him sitting on my bench. In my case though, I lost the week because of that and one other bad bench call, so I'm still grumbling about it. Glad you were able to pull off a win, regardless.Out of curiosity, who are you playing with? Friends, coworkers, strangers, etc? Whose fantasy system are you guys using?

    Like

  7. Hieronymus says:

    My cousin has set up a league on Yahoo, so it is some of his friends and a few of my other cousins. He keeps tweaking the rules, so I'm not really sure what the rules are in depth. The usual offensive ones and this year, different than last, team defense (last year, there were individual defensive stats). As you can tell, I just do this as a lark. I don't have time for it really, but it only takes about 15 minutes a week, so I can do that.

    Like

  8. Hieronymus says:

    Now I've gone off and jinxed myself – Favre got injured last night after piling up a QB rating of 8.9(sic). I imagine his output went negative for my team – I don't have the heart to check.

    Like

  9. Ross says:

    Yeah, someone in my league has him, and I think ended up with -2 for the night. Good luck with the rest of your players – hopefully they can make up for it.I'm in the hole this week – my opponent had Romo and the kicker for GB, so he's got 53 points already off 2 players. Hard to measure up to that when Marion Barber had 80 rushing yards but zero scores.

    Like

  10. Hieronymus says:

    Lucky for me I picked up Ryan Grant a few weeks ago. But my backup QB is Vince Young, who is a real fantasy dog. Here, let me check my team (he says while holding his breath)Woo hoo – I get -3 for Favre! But I got 21 for Grant. 18 points for an RB and QB – middle of the road, I guess.

    Like

Leave a Reply

