QotD: En Route

Posted: 2007-12-10 in General
Tags: , , , ,

   What is your daily commute like?  What is the weirdest thing you've seen on that commute? 

    Submitted by E

I'm slammed here at work, and it's not much better at home right now, what with getting ready for the new baby.  So my QotD answer today is just a repost of previous entries I put up a while back.  See?  I'm prescient – I answer the odd QotDs before they're even announced!

For the original Chucky post, go here.

For the original Duct Tape post, go here
(For the record, I saw Mr. Duct Tape's car the other day, and his window is still going strong.)

For the original jackknife post, go here.

For the original NASCAR post, go here.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Steve Betz says:

    The Chucky dolls are incredibly disturbing.

    Like

  2. grrrace says:

    oh. man. those chucky dolls are freaking me out…

    Like

  3. LeendaDLL says:

    ah, thank you. i was totally blanking out on odd stuff… despite 70mile commutes on SoCal freeways. your pics reminded me of the giant lemon vehicle, the tony the tiger truck, and the Christmas CocaCola truck that was all light up, just like in their commercials.

    Like

  4. Ross says:

    I can't take pictures of half the stuff I see, as usually it's while I'm going 70 mph. I've also seen some crazy people eating soup, applying mascara, reading a newspaper, etc. I once saw a pickup truck (with one of the low-profile flatbed covers) on the side of the road with 12 people standing around it, and no other cars. Either they were all crammed into a cab meant for 3 people max, or some of them had been riding in the bed (with the cover down?). I didn't hang around to find out how they were all going to fit back in the truck, but I'm sure it looked like a clown car when they first got out of it…

    Like

  5. LeendaDLL says:

    I was the person applying mascara (though I only do it when traffic is stopped).I got behind a woman a couple nights ago who was driving erratic. I figured it was cell phone but, nope, she had interior light on and was reading something she'd placed over her steering wheel. And we were on a super-twisty section of the freeway that involves lots of on/off ramps that merge and split. Idiot.

    Like

  6. Paxton says:

    The Chucky dolls are probably effective against tailgaters.

    Like

  7. Ross says:

    Mascara application while traffic is stopped is one thing, but having that little brush on your eye while you're trying to maintain cruising speed on the highway is a whole different story. I'm surprised she didn't swerve out of her lane more often than she did.Needless to say, I passed her at my first opportunity and left that accident-waiting-to-happen in my rearview mirror.

    Like

  8. Ross says:

    Yes – I was frightened even driving next to the guy…there was no way I was going to incur his wrath in any way whatsoever…

    Like

  9. crankypants says:

    LOL great pics. The scary Chucky dolls remind me of something I have been wondering about. I don't know if it's regional or if it's a garbage man thing–er, sanitation engineer thing…but around here a lot of garbage trucks or utility trucks like that will have a big stuffed animal strapped to the front. Off the top of my head I remember seeing a giant Tweety bird and a giant Spongebob. I don't know if this is garbage man gang colors or if it's just to ID their truck in the morning or what. Anyone?

    Like

  10. Ross says:

    I've never seen/heard of "garbage man gang colors", but that sounds awesome. I'm with the Porky Pig gang from the West-End….represent, yo.

    Like

  11. crankypants says:

    I'm with the North Side Oscar The Grouch gang…

    Like

Leave a Reply

