Do You Want Fries With That?

Posted: 2008-09-05 in General
Tags: , ,

I forgot to recount an actual conversation I had with a McDonald's serf employee a few weeks back while I was on an inspection trip.  I walked up to the counter where she stood attentively, awaiting my order.  Then the following mind-bender occurred:

Me: Yes, hello, this is a to-go order.  May I please have a bottle of water and one apple pie?

Employee: Do you want two pies?  It's cheaper…

Me: Two pies is cheaper than one pie?

Employee: Well, you get two for a dollar.

Me: And just how much is one pie?

Employee: Um, ninety cents.

Me: [Pauses to wonder how two pies are "cheaper"] I think I'll go with just the one pie I wanted, and save the ten cents, thank you very much.

Employee: OK.  And is this for here or to-go?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Artzy Lady says:

    What? You passed up the $.10 pie? What were you thinking?!

    Like

  2. GrayLarram says:

    You saved yourself a dime. Wow. You could make a phone call… 12 years ago. 🙂

    Like

  3. Ross says:

    Don't forget I also saved the 250 calories I would have otherwise eaten had I bought the extra $0.10 pie!

    Like

  4. GrayLarram says:

    You could have thrown the pie a hobo!

    Like

  5. Steve Betz says:

    Awesome — though i think it might be more fun to throw a hobo at the pie.

    Like

  6. GrayLarram says:

    That would depend on how foul the hobo smelled..

    Like

  7. Budd says:

    Do you want a cup of water, it is cheaper.

    Like

  8. Ross says:

    Hrm, it would be interesting if when you placed an order:Employee: Would you like to donate $0.10 to our "Pies for Hobos" fund?Me: What?Employee: For every ten cents you donate, we throw a pie at a hobo.Me: What's the fun in that? I want to throw the pies myself!!!

    Like

  9. Artzy Lady says:

    The hobo was behind the counter asking you if you wanted that to go.

    Like

  10. Ross says:

    Normally I'd go with a cup of water, but I bought the bottle of water to shove into my bag for later when I was out on the factory floor without water nearby.

    Like

  11. dewitte says:

    Why is one pie .90 and two $1? I think that's the big question. Why isn't one pie .50? That's actually bordering on crack-dealer behavior. I went to Chick-fil-a once and had a bill for like $11.15 so I gave her $20 + $1 + a quarter. She said "This is too much!" and I explained that she would just give me back a $10 and a dime. She looked at me and said it again "But this is too much". I restated myself and she entered the amount and the register said "Change $10.10". Then she got all ticked off at me. She practically threw the money at me and ended up knocking over some drinks. Gosh! It was dinner and a show.Good for you for saving on calories. I would have taken two…

    Like

  12. GrayLarram says:

    Pies for Hoboes. I say we start a new 'charity'. The hobo gets to keep whatever bits of the pie the hobo can catch on any part of the body or clothing. People would be lining up!I'll be someone would claim abuse or violation of human rights though.

    Like

  13. Eli's Dad says:

    If you buy three, do they pay you? I had a friend order only fries and a drink and the cashier asked "do you want fries w/ that?" My friend just stared at him until it clicked.

    Like

  14. grrrace says:

    man, i totally would've purchased the second one for the extra 10 cents. and i would've eaten them both in one sitting. you have self-control. hehe.

    Like

  15. Are any of us really surprised here? These places are scraping the bottom of the barrel here for cashiers.

    Like

  16. Cori says:

    This entire comment log is hilarious.
    McD's is giving away free coffee today (at least here in Sacramento). You could get one for yourself, and one to throw at a hobo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

