Apples to Oranges

Posted: 2008-10-06 in General
Tags: , , , ,

The following appeared in the "Vitamin ePIFfunny" newsletter for ePIFfunnies.com on Saturday, October 4th.  I'm the proud author. 🙂


I came home from work the other day to find my wife staring at her new leather purse with stars in her eyes. She was fiddling with the straps, playing with the clasp, and zipping/unzipping the pockets of the handbag. She might have been murmuring, "My preciousss…" under her breath, but that was probably my imagination.

When I gave her a questioning look about her behavior, she explained it quite simply. "Honey," she said, "I'm feeling right now EXACTLY how you feel when you get a new cell phone or electronic gadget."

Understanding dawned on me and brought a smile to my face. Although my wife wasn't a big one for the gadgets (as I am), here was an area (purses) where the intensity of her interest equaled my own (in electronics).

And then I came to a larger realization – sometimes we discount hobbies or interests other people have because they are not very interesting to us. We might ask, "How could she be so into baseball?", or "How could anyone like heavy metal?". The problem is we're in the wrong frame of reference to empathize with that person on the subject they love so much.

Instead, try thinking of one interest that you personally find fascinating, and then transfer your FEELINGS for your interest over to theirs to see how THEY feel about whatever is so engaging to them. It may not help you love golf, cooking, or chemistry the way they do, but I bet you'll feel a closer connection to that person, and gain at least a tolerance for their interest in a subject that is as alien to you as purses are to me!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. grrrace says:

    oh! i saw your last post and i meant to check it out. then i got sidetracked… thanks for republishing here on vox. :)(btw, i'm pretty positive your wife was saying, "my precioussssss." i would be. ;P hehe.)

    Like

  2. crankypants says:

    congrats on being published! 🙂
    and this is my feelings about my dog, I can't imagine that anyone wouldn't think he's the cutest thing EVAR. 😛

    Like

  3. Budd says:

    Hey, another Epiffunnies alum. great job.

    Like

  4. blond_sister says:

    Well done – Very well written, and very enlightening!

    Like

Leave a Reply

