Sweetest Day Leaves a Sour Taste in My Mouth

Posted: 2008-10-07 in General
Tags: , , ,

Okay-  I'm on board for celebrating birthdays and anniversaries.  I'll get cards & small gifts for Mother's/Father's Day.  I'll shake the gragger on Purim and light fireworks on the 4th of July (or whenever we're at the beach on vacation).  But celebrate Sweetest Day?  That's where I draw the line.

Today was actually the first time I had heard of Sweetest Day.  Early this morning, I received an email from ProFlowers advertising its imminent approach and had no idea what they were talking about.  I had to go to Wikipedia to find out the skinny about Sweetest Day.  I guess ProFlowers is looking for a way to increase their sales figures, and figure any holiday should be a reason to buy flowers.  Even if that "holiday" is primarily a promotion concocted by the candy industry to increase sales.

Of course, Retail Confectioners International and the National Confectioners Association are not the only groups that have a stake in Sweetest Day.  The greeting card industry has also thrown their weight behind this movement, putting out over 350 different greeting cards (just in 2006) centered on reveling in this cavity-inducing celebration.

So what does this mean to most folks in the US?  If you don't live around the Great Lakes region, chances are you don't celebrate Sweetest Day (and it's better than even odds that you probably haven't heard of the day, either).  But for folks in that area, it's yet another chance to "…remember not only the sick, aged and orphaned, but also friends, relatives and associates whose helpfulness and kindness we have enjoyed."

This, by itself, doesn't sound so bad.  I support recognizing the kindnesses and contributions of others.  But I'd prefer to do this on my own, without the burgeoning reminders of a commercial holiday guilting me into doing so.  If you feel the same way, just let Sweetest Day slide on by, and surprise those recipients of your thank-yous when they least expect it…say, in the middle of March?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Red Pen says:

    Grrrr. I hate the commercialization of sentiment. I hadn't heard of this 'holiday' before now, and I'm going to forget about it as soon as possible.

    Like

  2. Steve Betz says:

    Well, I guess you can just throw that card I sent you in the trash!!

    Like

  3. Ross says:

    Hey, I'm not one to turn down cards/gifts! I promise I'll display it prominently in my office, just above my daughter's latest artwork šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Jody says:

    ….because candy sales need to be higher in October, right? I mean, all those Halloween treats aren't enough!
    On Oct 18th, I'm celebrating No Beard Day instead! šŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. lauowolf says:

    now they are just making things up.

    Like

  6. gt says:

    Sweetest day? Ha! Why does this intrigue me to be bittersweet?

    Like

  7. Emily says:

    I had actually heard that Sweetest Day started long ago as a day where people baked pies, cakes, and other sweet things for the poor. The idea was to give sweets to those who normally cannot afford it (or much else). I just looked it up on Wiki, and it looks like that was the case: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sweetest_Day – Sponsored by a company, but largely organized as a charity event. I've always liked this idea a lot better, and resent that it has turned into Valentine's Day 2.

    Like

  8. Ross says:

    Yes, I like the idea of baking/giving stuff to those who cannot afford it. Too bad it sounds like it got re-purposed as a sales tool for candy companies.

    Like

  9. Debbie says:

    Wow, that brought back memories. I'm from central Illinois originally, and I'd never heard of Sweetest Day until my first fall semester in college. It is, indeed the one of the more gag-inducing holidays. Your perspective on the Great Lakes region intrigues me. Here I had grown up not an hour from where I went to college and this holiday appeared out of nowhere. And yet, a TON (I'd say easy majority) of Chicago-ites made up the student population at that school. I still trend some words nasal…

    Like

Leave a Reply

