The Calendar’s Not Broken, It’s Just Moving at Double-Speed

Posted: 2009-08-04 in General
Tags: , , ,

It seems only a few short months ago that I wrote my last birthday post here.  I can't believe it's been another year already.  Really, I can't believe how time flies when you're living your life.  But most of all, I can't believe I'm now 30 years old.  When I was a kid, 30 seemed ANCIENT.  Now that I'm 30, it seems like I'm just a few short years out of high school.  Strange how perspectives change, huh?

This year's birthday is a mixed bag – I'm always happy and grateful when another birthday rolls around, especially when it makes me a little introspective and I focus on how things have been going.  On the other hand, I'm on an assignment in Minnesota right now with 6 weeks in between visits home to see my family (currently going on 3.5 weeks and rounding the home stretch to my next visit home in mid-August).  Additionally, I have to work 1pm to midnight today (what's with making me work on my birthday!?!?) which sort of sucks, but at least I got to sleep in late this morning and putter around the hotel a bit.  Sleeping late + reading a good book and drinking coffee in bed is not a bad start to a birthday – I recommend trying it sometime.

So without further ado, I'll jump right into my yearly introspective retrospective, semi-objective super-collective of selective reflectives:

Over the past year I:

  • Took a vacation with my family to Playa del Carmen, Mexico (would love to be back there with the family again!!)
  • Celebrated Rosalie's First Birthday in the traditional family style, Violet's 4th birthday, and Dee's __th birthday (that's classified info and if I told you she'd have to kill me)
  • Read some good books
  • Rediscovered the time suck that is Facebook and Facebook apps like Bejeweled Blitz, Poker, Lexulous and Scrabble
  • Set up my Homeowner's Association community website and continued to maintain it
  • Started running (again!)
  • Finished first in my age division in my first 5k in 5 years (ugh, now I'm in a new age division, guess it's time to work my way up again)
  • Dramatically improved my cholesterol levels through diet, exercise, and a couple of helpful cholesterol medications
  • Appear to have gained a lot more grey hair (probably from chasing after my kids!)
  • Sold another piece to epiffunnies.com and had it voted as ePIFfunny of the Week
  • Joined my synagogue's Brotherhood's book club.  Although I'm missing out on most of the meetings this summer, it's still fun.  Plus, I'm the youngest guy there by about 15-20 years πŸ™‚
  • Built a playset for my kids in the backyard with the help of my father and brother-in-law (thanks Dad and Brian!)
  • Watched Violet's very first dance recital (cutest video EVER coming soon to a blog near you!)
  • Kept afloat in my role as lead electrical on this project and began my stint up here on-site in Minnesota for commissioning

In the coming year I expect I will:

  • Spend a lot of long hours on-site here in Minnesota cursing equipment and working my butt off to get things running properly
  • Not see my girls NEARLY often enough, but will immerse myself in their lives at every given opportunity
  • Finish this damn Vox Export tool (I swear it's almost ready for testing!!!) and get it out to the masses people who have asked about it

And just like last year, I also have some things I hope to do, including:

  • Bring smiles to the faces of every one in my family as often as I can
  • Get back into running regularly
  • Wrap up this assignment as quickly as possible and get back home to see my family SOON
  • Get back into posting regularly on Vox
  • Enjoy every day – Time's a one-way street and I don't want to miss any of the sights along the way

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Patty says:

    what a good birthday post!
    Happy Birthday.
    And yes, finish that Vox export tool too!

    Have you seen this…will it help in creating your tool? A former 6Aer made it, but to us laymen it's goobledee-goo.

    Like

  2. Happy birthday, birthday twin!! May your day be filled with lots of love (with your 3 beautiful ladies, how can it not be?), laughter, fun, and just general appreciation for that wonderful person that you are. Thank you so much for the message and for the inspiration to revisit the past year and reflect on what lies ahead!

    Like

  3. Steve Betz says:

    Great post! And believe me, 30 is young young young! Happy Birthday, Ross!!

    Like

  4. grrrace says:

    happy birthday! time starts speeding by after 30! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Eli's Dad says:

    Happy birthday there young fella. When I was your age…what was I talking about?

    Like

  6. LeendaDLL says:

    30 will seem horribly young to you one day! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Like

  7. Emmi says:

    Happy Birthday!! August is a good month to celebrate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

