The Friday Drabble #8: A Slippery Slope

Posted: 2010-10-01 in Friday Drabble, status
Tags: , ,

Good news! I’m flying home today to take up residence again in North Carolina! My “3 month assignment” is finally complete after approximately 15 months up in Minnesota.  Right now it looks like I’ll finally be able to sleep in my own bed and kiss my wife and kids goodnight every night, and do so for the foreseeable future!  Hooray!

This also means that I’ll be having a little more free time to post, which should mean I’m doing more than slinging up drabble every week.  I’ve volunteered to help write some posts for the Scifi Media Group that Budd founded, and I’ve already got some lined up for that (coming soon to a blogspot near you).  Of course, I’m planning on spending a lot of time with my family, too, so even though I’ll be writing more, I might ease back into the posting so not as to overwhelm myself and end up in the same spot I was after NaBloPoMo a couple of years back (where I posted for 30 days straight, and then only had 5 posts in the 2 months following thereafter).

So without further ado, here’s this week’s drabble, in honor of Banned Books Week.


Fridays are the days I post one or two “drabble“, the 100-word stories that test your ability to convey an entire story idea in an extremely brief format.  Feel free to join in and write your own 100 word stories on Fridays, and tag them with “friday drabble”.  Link to them in the comments and/or on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.


A Slippery Slope

First books were banned, then schools, then education in general.

Soon followed prohibitions concerning consumption of green vegetables, bathing, newspapers (and news reporting in general), public displays of affection, and regimented exercise.  People were at a loss with what to do with all their free time when employment was banned.

But the final straw, which incited rebellion and the eventual downfall of the empire, was the proclamation banning “girls and their cooties”.

Years later, looking back, the historians all agreed that it had been a monumentally bad idea to allow the child-emperor to dictate law according to his 8-year-old whims.

A Slippery Slope

Comments
  1. Budd says:

    Awesome!

    thanks for the linky.

    Like

  2. Redscylla says:

    Hooray for sleeping in your own bed and smooching the wife and kids!

    Like

  3. SteveB says:

    Nice — though i wonder if an 8yo boy or a 14yo girl would be the toughest tyrant!

    Like

  4. Lauri says:

    Loved the drabble!

    And hooray for being home with the family! Travel for work gets old really fast!

    Like

  5. cranky says:

    Yay, congrats on going home!

    Like

  6. leendadll says:

    Great one!
    With some minor tweaks, this would make a good submission for a Flash Fiction (or Ultra Flash Fiction) anthology!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

