QotW: Halloween Costumes

Posted: 2010-10-27 in QOTW
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Vox Diaspora Question of the Week is:

When you were young, what was your favorite Halloween costume? Even better if you have pictures to share!

My absolute favorite costume from when I was a kid is one I can’t remember wearing – for good reason.  I was just over 1 year old at the time.  It was a tiger costume that a friend of the family made and gave to my parents after I was born.

Ross as a Halloween Tiger (1980) Ross at Halloween (1980)

Of course, the costume was so well-made that it got passed on to my brothers, who each wore it in turn.  Then my parents boxed it up and put it away, only to pull it out in time to give to Dee and I for our kids to wear!

Bumblebee and Tiger going for a rideTiger ROARS!

I’m not sure what we’re going to do with the costume now – probably box it up and pass it on to someone else in the family when they have a little one the same age…

As for costumes as I grew older – I can’t remember many of them, but think that a vampire was one of my standard go-to costumes.  Mostly because it just required a vinyl cape & plastic fangs.  The mask was optional, but made me feel cooler:

Ross, Ben and David at Halloween 1986 (Note Ben the Happy Transformer and David the Tiger as we prepare to go trick-or-treating together)

Comments
  1. That is so awesome that your costume has been passed down to your kids!

    My favorite costume would have to be Firestar (from Spider-Man and His Amazing Friends), as I was her two or three times. Or I was Moonshade one year.

    Like

  2. capnstephel says:

    How cute! And it’s really cool that your costume has lasted so long. This answer makes me happy. 😀
    And I see shorts in that last photo. I’m guessing you grew up in a fairly warm climate? (I grew up planning costumes around cold weather and possibly snow)

    Like

    • Ross says:

      That photo (from 1986) was indeed in a warm climate – most of my formative trick-or-treating years were in the Virginia/South Carolina regions, so we didn’t have to worry about cold weather. I could see how snow and freezing temperatures would severely affect costume choices!

      Like

  3. Margy says:

    Oh, that’s sweet! If any kids show up in a costume like that, I’m goo on the floor.

    Like

  4. MrsPeel says:

    awww so cute!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

